Friday, March 12, 2010

Phlebotomy = Blood= Whitney passing out


I am soon-to-be enrolled in a phlebotomy class here in Logan so that I can increase my chances of finding a better job. While the prospect of a new job is extremely appealing to me, taking people's blood is not. BUT...it is a skill that it necessary for my advancement in my chosen field so I have to grin and bear it. The course is offered at Bridgerland Applied Technology College and is supposedly their most popular course. The doors open at 5:00am and I will have to be there by 4:00 in order to be in the running to register. It's gonna cost about $500 to enroll, but we're hoping it will be worth it in the end by my getting a new job. I'm especially not excited about the part where students practice on each other. Please pray for me!

4 comments:

  1. Yuck, I know I couldn't do it, but you change old men stinky diapers, so you can do anything!

    ReplyDelete
  2. You can do it!! Good luck Whit! I don't have any advice, but I love your blog background! So fun!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh whitney whitney whitney, IT IS SO FUN.... you'll see. Give it a few times, piece of cake. It's alot different having someone draw blood on you, then it is drawing it on someone else. Love to draw it, hate to get it drawn. You'll be great. You have an advantage, look where you work and all the FABULOUS nurses you work with to help you out.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I have the same problem!!! But I'm also going to attempt to grin and bear it for the same reason when I take my phlebotomy class. GOOD LUCK! Let me know how it goes, and tell me your secrets to surviving it so I can too! lol
    Whitney Preece

    ReplyDelete

Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers
Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers